Home About Us Contact Shop Donate
U.S. Senate Rejects Nelson Pro-Life Amendment, CFC will continue the fight!  
20091101 CFC
The U.S. Senate on Tuesday voted 54-45 to defeat the Nelson amendment that would have removed the massive abortion funding from the Senate government-run health care bill.

"We are obviously disappointed with today's vote, however, we plan to continue the fight to keep abortion funding out of any healthcare bill", stated Anthony Verdugo, Founder and Executive Director, Christian Family Coalition.

The Nelson amendment, sponsored by Nebraska Democratic Sen. Ben Nelson, Democrat Bob Casey of Pennsylvania and Republican Orrin Hatch of Utah, would have restored the Hyde amendment principles to the bill to ensure that abortions can't be funded.  Contrary to the claims of abortion advocates during the debate, women would still be able to pay for abortions with their own money and purchase health care insurance to cover their abortions.

Nelson was unable to get enough Democrats to join him in supporting the amendment while two Republicans, pro-abortion Maine Sens. Olympia Snow and Susan Collins, sided with abortion advocates against the amendment.  Sen. Barbara Boxer moved to table (kill) the Nelson amendment and she was joined by most Democrats and opposed by most Republicans.

See how your U.S. Senator voted:
Senate Vote on Motion to Table (Kill) Nelson Amendment

            Yea  =  Pro-Aborton                  Nay  =  Pro-Life

Alabama: Sessions (R), Nay Shelby (R), Nay
Alaska: Begich (D), Yea Murkowski (R), Nay
Arizona: Kyl (R), Nay McCain (R), Nay
Arkansas: Lincoln (D), Yea Pryor (D), Nay
California: Boxer (D), Yea Feinstein (D), Yea
Colorado: Bennet (D), Yea Udall (D), Yea
Connecticut: Dodd (D), Yea Lieberman (ID), Yea
Delaware: Carper (D), Yea Kaufman (D), Nay
Florida: LeMieux (R), Nay Nelson (D), Yea
Georgia: Chambliss (R), Nay Isakson (R), Nay
Hawaii: Akaka (D), Yea Inouye (D), Yea
Idaho: Crapo (R), Nay Risch (R), Nay
Illinois: Burris (D), Yea Durbin (D), Yea
Indiana: Bayh (D), Nay Lugar (R), Nay
Iowa: Grassley (R), Nay Harkin (D), Yea
Kansas: Brownback (R), Nay Roberts (R), Nay
Kentucky: Bunning (R), Nay McConnell (R), Nay
Louisiana: Landrieu (D), Yea Vitter (R), Nay
Maine: Collins (R), Yea Snowe (R), Yea
Maryland: Cardin (D), Yea Mikulski (D), Yea
Massachusetts: Kerry (D), Yea Kirk (D), Yea
Michigan: Levin (D), Yea Stabenow (D), Yea
Minnesota: Franken (D), Yea Klobuchar (D), Yea
Mississippi: Cochran (R), Nay Wicker (R), Nay
Missouri: Bond (R), Nay McCaskill (D), Yea
Montana: Baucus (D), Yea Tester (D), Yea
Nebraska: Johanns (R), Nay Nelson (D), Nay
Nevada: Ensign (R), Nay Reid (D), Yea
New Hampshire: Gregg (R), Nay Shaheen (D), Yea
New Jersey: Lautenberg (D), Yea Menendez (D), Yea
New Mexico: Bingaman (D), Yea Udall (D), Yea
New York: Gillibrand (D), Yea Schumer (D), Yea
North Carolina: Burr (R), Nay Hagan (D), Yea
North Dakota: Conrad (D), Nay Dorgan (D), Nay
Ohio: Brown (D), Yea Voinovich (R), Nay
Oklahoma: Coburn (R), Nay Inhofe (R), Nay
Oregon: Merkley (D), Yea Wyden (D), Yea
Pennsylvania: Casey (D), Nay Specter (D), Yea
Rhode Island: Reed (D), Yea Whitehouse (D), Yea
South Carolina: DeMint (R), Nay Graham (R), Nay
South Dakota: Johnson (D), Yea Thune (R), Nay
Tennessee: Alexander (R), Nay Corker (R), Nay
Texas: Cornyn (R), Nay Hutchison (R), Nay
Utah: Bennett (R), Nay Hatch (R), Nay
Vermont: Leahy (D), Yea Sanders (I), Yea
Virginia: Warner (D), Yea Webb (D), Yea
Washington: Cantwell (D), Yea Murray (D), Yea
West Virginia: Byrd (D), Not Voting Rockefeller (D), Yea
Wisconsin: Feingold (D), Yea Kohl (D), Yea
Wyoming: Barrasso (R), Nay Enzi (R), Nay
Category: Healthcare
Tags: Healthcare Pro-Life Nelson Amendment Senate Abortion